After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Moderator: Moderators

After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby jagnum1fan » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:30 pm

I just upgraded to the official release from the 20150319 beta 2 version and I was getting anywhere from 65-70% signal quality on a channel. As soon as I upgraded it dropped down to 41-42% and it won't go above that. It started right after the update.
jagnum1fan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:30 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby ski522 » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:07 pm

What product? Did you try to reflash? Downgrade to a prior firmware? Physically power cycle the unit?
ski522
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:37 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby jagnum1fan » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:40 pm

HDHR4-2US, cycled the power. Nothing changed.

Is there a way to downgrade back to the beta firmware? I downloaded just the package not the individual firmware files, but if there is a location I can grab them from on the local machine I can do that
jagnum1fan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:30 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby nickk » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:53 pm

Hi,

There have been no changes relating to reception.
For the HDHR4-2US the release firmware is the same as the most recent beta other than the version string.

What is the antenna/cable/splitter/amplifier layout feeding the HDHomeRun?
nickk
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9772
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby jagnum1fan » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:55 pm

Found the beta firmware. I tried to upload it and it acts like it is going through the process and rebooting but when I pull the config utility back up it is still on the latest firmware. Power cycled it to be sure, didn't make a difference.
jagnum1fan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:30 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby jagnum1fan » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:04 pm

XG91 Antenna into a radioshack pre-amp hung on the pole, that goes into a signal amp distributor. comes off of the distributor into the HDHR. I put a splitter in between the distributor and the HDHR to test but it made no difference either.
jagnum1fan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:30 am

Re: After upgrading to official relase lost signal quality

Postby ski522 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:45 am

If you didn't make any changes to your antenna setup it sounds like something went wrong with the box...maybe the firmware flash didn't take correctly...you might want to open a support ticket at this point.
ski522
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:37 am


Return to HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest