HDHomeRun and NAS serveur synology

HDHomeRun development

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion of development of third-party hardware and software that interacts with HDHomeRun hardware. General questions about past, present, or future HDHomeRun products, or about existing apps that utilize the HDHomeRun, should be posted in the appropriate Support forum.

HDHomeRun and NAS serveur synology

Postby marcellusio » Mon Jul 05, 2010 2:45 am

Hello,

I think that I'll buy this equipement in a few days but I would like to know something before !

I have got a NAS serveur (Synology) and may it can work with HDHomeRun?

On the site of silicondust, I found the driver for linux :http://www.silicondust.com/support/hdhomerun/downloads/linux/ but it need a graphic interface (GTK) for configuration.

So the first difficulty is to compile the tuner for the NAS and after to find how to configue the tuner without graphic interface!

I would like your expertise and do you think that is possble to realise ?

That will be really interresting and my NAS will become a recoder :p

Sorry for my english, i'm french.
Marcellusio
marcellusio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 am

Postby jasonl » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:54 pm

On any computer you plan to use with the HDHomeRun, you will need some sort of PVR software or other means of recording content such as a custom-written program. On Linux, most people use MythTV, though SageTV would also work. Recording directly on an embedded device like a NAS server would be difficult since they are generally limited in what can be run on them.
jasonl
Silicondust
 
Posts: 8408
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

From what i've heard

Postby TheRealBamse » Thu Aug 05, 2010 1:05 pm

From what i've heard following the official Synology and several other forums, the rumor is that some guy is trying to port MythTV to Synology.
Whether this is a actual fact or or just a rumor is much debatted...

While some guy might actually be trying to port MythTV, I doubt that any real release will ever see the light of day. I base this on the fact that even though 3rd party developers are allowed; and even encouraged to write 3rd party programs for Synology, no actual framework to do so existes. This (from my understanding) means that the port has to be rewritten for each CPU-architecture.
But since only the Synology 710+ and 1010+ sports enough CPU-power to even get close to decrypting and recording SD or HD content, only 2 rewrites would be needed. The 710+ and 1010+ use Intel Atom single-core and dual-core processors equal to what's used in the "Revo". Any model smaller then that would simply not posses the brawn to do the job...

But from the buttom of my heart; I really really hope that the rumors are true! I would love to be able to use MythTV and HDHomeRun on my Synology... (I've just bought a 710+ myself)
TheRealBamse
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:40 am

should work.... libhdhomerun actually includes a cli prgm

Postby twobits » Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:10 am

Actually the libhdhomerun includes the cli hdhomerun_config program.
with this program you can save streams. With the streams already
now digital, unlike the days of analog tv, the backend box really
does not need much cpu at all.

I did see that python is already available for these NAS. With that
and a compile of the the cli hdhomerun_config program it should
be trival to get the freevo recordserver running on the NAS, as it
is already in python. It already supports spliting the record server off
to another box from the front end gui running machine.

There is no need to do decrypting or decoding
to record the content, and they already have fast enough networking
code and usually fast drives. They should be fine, in fact it should
be less load to run the recorder on the NAS then to run it on another
box that is then writing to the NAS over the network. You should
be able to record just fine from almost all of the Synology NAS
devices, I plan to get around one of these days to setting it up
on the 209 I have, just have been too lazy to set up a way
to compile hdhomerun_config for the NAS's cpu.
twobits
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:34 pm

Postby marcellusio » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:04 am

Yes, I did it !!!!!

My HDHomeRun works with my NAS Synology (DS209+) !!!

I'll explain step by step what I did.

At de first, I tried to do a cross compilation with my ubuntu 64, but nothing works and the executable did not want to run on my NAS (I had core.dump).

So yesterday, I setup the bootstrap (ipkg) of my NAS with this tutorial : http://fredo.servehttp.com/html/Astu-02.htm
(Sorry, it's in french)

With ipkg, I installed "make" and "gcc" for the compilation.
I untarred the source file of HDHomeRun : http://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/libhdhomerun_20100828.tgz
And I did a make to compile sources.

2 files was created, hdhomerun_config and libhdhomerun.so.

I copied the first in /usr/bin/ and the second in /usr/lib/

Now, you can use this help : http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_development.pdf

For information, I made the test to copy a stream on the NAS and its resources were used at 1% CPU and 2% of memory.

Thx to all !

I'll work to automate the record for the next time :)

Best regards,
Marcellusio

pour le tutorial en francais suivez ce lien ->http://www.nas-forum.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16050&view=findpost&p=99675
marcellusio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 am

Postby Thurnok » Mon Oct 11, 2010 6:20 pm

I'd like to get ahold of this info (in English if possible) because I have a DS508 I'd like to try to get it working on. Any info would be appreciated.
Thurnok
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:31 pm

Postby marcellusio » Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:58 am

I found wiki for install the bootstrap in english : http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Overview_on_modifying_the_Synology_Server,_bootstrap,_ipkg_etc#How_to_install_ipkg
@Thurnok: I think I'll make a topic at the end with all informations in english ;)

And Say me if someone want to work with me or have difficulties !
Last edited by marcellusio on Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
marcellusio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 am

Postby Thurnok » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:06 pm

Awesome. Looking forward to it. Thanks Marcellusio!
Thurnok
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:31 pm

Postby marcellusio » Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:12 am

Now I would like to find a way to download a TV program and present it on a website to automate the records.

Do you have an idea to do that?
marcellusio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 am

Postby marcellusio » Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:51 pm

No response ?
But I found one :D
It's XMLTV, a perl program an the url is : http://wiki.xmltv.org/index.php/Main_Page

I'll try to help you to setup.
So you download the latest version :
Code: Select all
wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/xmltv/xmltv/0.5.58/xmltv-0.5.58.tar.bz2?r=&ts=1287513907&use_mirror=freefr

you untar the file :
Code: Select all
tar jxfv xmltv-0.5.58.tar.bz2

You go the new folder :
Code: Select all
cd xmltv-0.5.58


After you need to install "perl" with ipkg :
Code: Select all
ipkg install perl


and now you run the command :
Code: Select all
perl Makefile.PL

You'll get this response :
Code: Select all
Choose which optional components of xmltv you want to install.  The
XMLTV.pm library and the filter programs such as tv_grep and tv_sort
are installed by default; here you choose grabbers for different
countries and front-ends for managing listings.

Grabber for Switzerland (tv_grab_ch_search)                             [no]
Grabber for Latin America (tv_grab_dtv_la)                              [no]
Grabber for UK and Ireland (Radio Times) (tv_grab_uk_rt)                [no]
Fast alternative grabber for the UK (tv_grab_uk_bleb)                   [no]
Grabber for Iceland (tv_grab_is)                                        [no]
Grabber for Italy (tv_grab_it)                                          [yes]
Grabber for Italy from DVB-S stream (tv_grab_it_dvb)                    [no]
Grabber for India (zipazap.com) (tv_grab_in)                            [no]
$ Grabber for North America-schedulesdirect.org (tv_grab_na_dd)         [no]
Grabber for North American Channel Icons (tv_grab_na_icons)             [no]
Grabber for Finland (tv_grab_fi)                                        [no]
Grabber for Israel (tv_grab_il)                                         [no]
Alternative grabber for Spain (tv_grab_es_laguiatv)                     [no]
Alternative grabber for Spain using miguiatv.com (tv_grab_es_miguiatv) [no]
Grabber for the Netherlands (tv_grab_nl)                                [no]
Grabber for Hungary and Romania (tv_grab_huro)                          [no]
Grabber for Denmark (dr.dk) (tv_grab_dk_dr)                             [no]
Grabber for Sweden (tv_grab_se_swedb)                                   [no]
Grabber for Croatia (tv_grab_hr)                                        [no]
Grabber for Norway (gfeed.info) (tv_grab_no_gfeed)                      [no]
Grabber for France (tv_grab_fr)                                         [no]
Grabber for Portugal (tv_grab_pt)                                       [no]
Grabber for South Africa (tv_grab_za)                                   [no]
Grabber for some European countries (epgdata.com) (tv_grab_eu_epgdata) [no]
Grabber that combines data from other grabbers (tv_grab_combiner)       [no]
Program to report exceptions and changes in a schedule (tv_check)       [no]
CGI program to filter listings (to install manually) (tv_pick_cgi)      [yes]
Grabber for Estonia (tv_grab_ee)                                        [no]
Grabber for Reunion Island (France) (tv_grab_re)                        [no]
Grabber for DirecTV in North America (tv_grab_na_dtv)                   [no]

Do you want to proceed with this configuration? [yes,no (default=yes)]

You say no and you'll say yes just for your country grabber... for my exemple :
Code: Select all
* Grabber for France (tv_grab_fr)

These dependencies are missing for tv_grab_fr:

HTML::Entities (version 1.27 or higher)
HTML::TreeBuilder

Do you wish to install tv_grab_fr? [yes,no (default=no)] yes

Then you must tell me the answer to the application because it lacks some modules but I did not notice that.
I will help on what you need.
...
...
...
Once past this stage, you have a new executable:
and you must configure it :
Code: Select all
tv_grab_fr --configure

It offers you choices:
Code: Select all
Get channels type : CABLE/SAT? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : CANAL SAT? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : DOCU/CULTURE? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : ETRANGERES? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : FILMS? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : FREEBOX? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : HERTZIENNE? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
Get channels type : JEUNESSE? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : MUSIQUE? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : SERIES? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : SPORT? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] no
Get channels type : TNT? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)] yes
getting channel lists
Channels for HERTZIENNE
add channel TF1? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel France 2? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel France 3? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Canal +? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Arte? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel M 6? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel France 5? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
Channels for TNT
add channel i-télé? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Direct 8? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel NT1? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel NRJ 12? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Public Sénat - LCP AN? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Direct Star? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel BFM TV? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel Gulli? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel France 4? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel W9? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel France Ô? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
add channel TMC? [yes,no,all,none (default=yes)]
Finished configuration.

I chose in my example french channels.

You just have to create a cron job to automate the creation of this file during the night (this file takes several hours to build because he travels the reference site to take informations)
Code: Select all
vi /etc/crontab

and you add at the end of file :
Code: Select all
0       1       *       *       *       root    tv_grab_fr --output /volume1/test/programmetv.xml --days=9

In my case, I run every day at 1am and I take the program for 9 days.
You quit and save your file and you restart the cron service :
Code: Select all
/usr/syno/etc.defaults/rc.d/S04crond.sh stop

Then
Code: Select all
/usr/syno/etc.defaults/rc.d/S04crond.sh start


Now you have the TV program in XML file!!!

You tell me you're nice but then what?
After I'm currently thinking about making a website with information from this file and which will control the HDHomeRun :P

I already found how to parse the XML file in php but after I do not know if I use a database in MySQL or not.

I am truly sorry for my English! tell me if you dont't understand somethings.

See you soon :)
marcellusio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:30 am

Postby 321liftoff » Fri May 27, 2011 2:24 am

Have any of you heard of NASDVR? It seems to do what you are looking to do. I'm looking to get a NAS for the purpose of a PVR/DVR, so I don't own one yet. Could someone give NASDVR a try, maybe make the necessary improvements to the project and report results?

Below is from an e-mail from the developer:

NASDVR is basically a set of perl scripts that are kicked off by cron jobs that store/retrieve data from a mysql database and use the hdhomerun_config application to set channels, start and stop recording. So if your box can run perl, mysql and hdhomerun_config then you are good to go.
321liftoff
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:22 am

QNAP ipkg wish list

Postby sm768 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:40 pm

I have a QNAP ts x59 pro ii nas
would like to use it as a pvr it already has the upnp server
sm768
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:21 pm

Postby 321liftoff » Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:01 pm

There is some work going on over here to get the dvbhdhomerun driver to work on QNAP NAS for use with software such as TVHeadend. Based on marcellusio's work above, the same concepts from the QNAP may apply to the Synology NAS.
321liftoff
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:22 am

Synology DS1512+ / HDHR3 / TVHeadend / XBMC

Postby Xexiz » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:34 am

Allright guys, is this thread still alive? I've been struggling for days now trying to setup and understand how this works.. (no success at all for now except, I installed TVHeadend package in DSM which was pretty easy. Although, the HDHR3 is currently installed on my main computer and I think that's the second step for me, is to uninstall it from my computer, and try to install this on my Synology NAS. Have no clue how to do this but until I figure this out, TVHeadend can't find HDHR3 therefore XBMC can't work! :(
Xexiz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:30 am

Postby 321liftoff » Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:38 am

Have you come across this thread? It looks like hoonetune has compiled and made available binarys for an arm architecture. I doubt your NAS is arm, but maybe the thread can shed some light.
321liftoff
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:22 am

Next

Return to Development Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests