Issue with network failure

HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Moderator: Moderators

Issue with network failure

Postby short » Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:09 pm

I have a couple of issues with my HDHR3-4DC. Device ID: 14103EFC. Firmware: 20140604.

1)
After some uptime (days) it starts to lose network connection at regular/random intervals. If I ping the device, it times out. After x number of seconds it starts to respond again. A restart seems to work as a temporary fix. There are no entries in the system log.

The last network failure happened around 20140713-19:04:19 "log time". Just before I did a restart.

2)
Sometimes channels disappear from the channel lineup. I.e. http://192.168.1.12:5004/auto/v1 no longer works. I can still tune in manually. The other day "TV2 HD" http://192.168.1.12:5004/auto/v5 was gone. I then needed to do a new scan. The missing channel was still listed and enabled in the HDHomeRun setup.


I have enabled "send diagnostic information". I hope it can shead some light on it.
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby SoNic67 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:22 pm

Submit a trouble ticket, that's the best way to get a response.
SoNic67
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:15 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby short » Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:02 am

Yes, using their forum seems to not work very well.
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby mike_ekim » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:13 pm

Especially the Beta sub forum.
mike_ekim
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:06 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby nickk » Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:07 am

We found and fixed the problem causing the 4DC unit to stop responding during the channel scan with some providers.

One more issue found in QA that is holding up the release... won't be long.

Nick
nickk
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9556
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby short » Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:53 am

My problem isn't during scan, though, but under normal operation. Suddenly the device just stop responding.
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby warpster » Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:14 pm

One more issue found in QA that is holding up the release... won't be long.


Uh, how long is 'won't be long" anyway? Its already been 2 weeks.....evidently we don't agree on the definition ;)

Seriously did more issues come up? Any idea if the HDTC-2US logging and channel/program id will be fixed when the next firmware is released? http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=17561

Thanks
warpster
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby littleoldme » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:55 pm

warpster wrote:
One more issue found in QA that is holding up the release... won't be long.


Uh, how long is 'won't be long" anyway? Its already been 2 weeks.....evidently we don't agree on the definition ;)

Seriously did more issues come up? Any idea if the HDTC-2US logging and channel/program id will be fixed when the next firmware is released? http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=17561

Thanks


2 weeks and 8 days now. Makes 3 weeks and a day, simply amazing the lack of response this must be defined in the legendary urban dictionary or something that I have never had my hands on.
littleoldme
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby nickk » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:07 am

Hi,

The not-responding error seen by some HDHR3-4DC users has been fixed and the firmware made available to those affected.

Checking - what problem are you seeing that is making you keen to see a beta release?

Nick
nickk
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9556
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby warpster » Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:08 pm

If you are referring to my post then I am referring to this issue
http://www.silicondust.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=17561
warpster
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby short » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:07 pm

The network issue seems to be better now, but some channels still disappear from time to time. No good when I rely on the channel lineup and have programs scheduled to be recorded. Is there progress, anyone know?
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby jasonl » Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:06 pm

Please re-enable the sending of diagnostic data, reproduce the issue, and reply back with the time it happened and the channel it happened on, and we will check the logs.
jasonl
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9251
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby short » Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:55 pm

It is enabled now. But I'm curious... Why is the list made "dynamic" (or is this the bug :-))? Only doing a channel scan should alter it... or?
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby jasonl » Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:09 pm

The HDHomeRun runs channel scans in the background every few days looking for new channels. If the channel can't be accessed at the time when the scan is run, it will no longer be on the list.
jasonl
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9251
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Issue with network failure

Postby short » Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:21 am

Channel 27 has been missing after the last two channel scans, but it finds channel 93 - same frequency.

27 DR Ram 498000000 600
93 NDR HD 498000000 610

Signal strength: 66, quality: 84. Both play fine.
short
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 1:24 am

Next

Return to HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gtb, iFredOS, karog and 0 guests