Bug in 20140617beta1

HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Moderator: Moderators

Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby kayfam » Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:45 pm

After flashing to this latest beta I assumed all was working with my HDHomerun Prime till I had to run a new channel scan. For some reason the scan aborts at about the 50% mark. Repeated scans using both the setup utility and the web interface show the same thing, both abort at the 50% mark exactly. I just spent the last several hours on the phone with a Time Warner cable card tech with who I have dealt with in the past (and trust), we went through every diagnostic step you can think of and the hardware is fine. For now Media Center is still able to tune the missing channels, but for how long I don't know or if this glitch would totally mess things up if I had to redo my media center setup. The weird thing is no errors show up in the logs. The scan simply quits/doesn't complete.
The change log shows
PRIME:
* Improvements to channel scan when tuning resolver is connected

so I have to believe this is the root cause.
Send diagnostics is enabled and for the record
Model: HDHR3-CC
Device ID: 131C6FEF
Firmware: 20140617beta1
kayfam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:33 am

Re: Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby jasonl » Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:14 pm

Can you provide a specific start/stop time when you ran the scan so we can check that exact point in the logs?
jasonl
Silicondust
 
Posts: 8883
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby kayfam » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:18 pm

jasonl wrote:Can you provide a specific start/stop time when you ran the scan so we can check that exact point in the logs?

I just ran a scan now, lasted from 10:12 PM to 10:15 PM EDT and just like the prior scans it stopped at 50% complete

*Edit*
I ran the scan from the web GUI, I'll repeat it from the setup and report back in a few moments.

*Edit 2*
Ran the second scan from 10:22 PM to 10:25 PM EDT using the setup program, same results as above.
In total I've lost aproximately 150 channels.
kayfam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:33 am

Re: Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby nickk » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:16 pm

Hi,

Problem confirmed and fixed (odd corner case to do with channel scanning with a tuning resolver).

I will send you a PM with the pre-release to test.

Nick
nickk
Silicondust
 
Posts: 9511
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby kayfam » Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:53 pm

Hi nickk,
I downloaded and installed the test build and I can confirm it fixed the channel scanning issue. I did however come across a couple of error messages in the log which are aproximately about the same time I initiated the channel scan:
Code: Select all
19700101-00:00:00 System: reset reason = firmware upgrade
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: USB device 05A6:0008 connected
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver connected
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: M-CARD inserted
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver downstream status: success
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver upstream status: success
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver authentication status: in progress
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver operational status: initializing
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: invalid session 0xDEAD (cchost_session:267)
19700101-00:00:02 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver authentication status: success
19700101-00:00:02 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver operational status: ready
19700101-00:00:03 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:04 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.1.130 / 255.255.255.0
19700101-00:00:06 CableCARD: Cisco card (0103:0001)
19700101-00:00:11 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication in progress
19700101-00:00:11 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
20140621-03:45:26 CableCARD: time changed from Thu Jan 01 00:04:43 1970 to Sat Jun 21 03:45:26 2014
20140621-03:48:33 CableCARD: tr/resolve_tuning_rsp timeout error (cchost_tr_resolve_tuning:33)
20140621-03:48:38 CableCARD: tr/resolve_tuning_rsp timeout error (cchost_tr_resolve_tuning:33)

I don't know how serious they are or if they can be safely ignored. I"ll keep an eye on the logs for the next 24 hours or so and see if there are any repeats or if anything else pops up.
Once again many thanks for the fast response to my issue. :D
kayfam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:33 am

Re: Bug in 20140617beta1

Postby Zumaone » Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:21 pm

I am also seeing the same messages in the log as well:

20140622-01:13:39 CableCARD: tr/resolve_tuning_rsp timeout error (cchost_tr_resolve_tuning:33)
20140622-01:13:44 CableCARD: tr/resolve_tuning_rsp timeout error (cchost_tr_resolve_tuning:33)

I was not experiencing these on the prior stable release.
Zumaone
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 2:21 pm


Return to HDHomeRun Beta Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], RobD68 and 4 guests