PowerDVD13

Moderator: Moderators

PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:26 pm

I just upgraded to PDVD13 and the prime is not showing up in the list of DLNA devices. I'm running the latest release 20130328. I tried a repair/reinstall windows but it did not fix the problem.
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:57 pm

It has now appeared in the list (as a DMS and a prime), but when DMS is selected PDVD13 just shows a spinning icon and says loading. I'll leave this going overnight to see if it gets anywhere.
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:00 am

Still spinning after 10 hours!
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:04 pm

Seems like if you wait long enough, things fix themselves. I now can see both regular and encrypted channels in PDVD13 :D
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby mamanze » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:43 pm

I just tried in PowerDVD 13 and it worked with only a few seconds of delay :)

Anyone know how to fit a PVR around this? ;)
mamanze
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby Mediaman » Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:13 pm

Please educate us on what you are seeing? User interface, channel list[s]. Who is your service provider? Can you play copyonce content?

Also quality of playback via hardwired vs wireless if you can run such a test though I can predict the outcome fairly well generally. Some wi-fi has a very tolerable level of pixing but it has to be a strong signal.
Mediaman
 
Posts: 3796
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:49 am

Here's a couple of pictures of the UI. I tried to capture playing a protected channel, but the screenshot is black. I'm running wired so no speed issues. My provider is Brighthouse (Indianpolis).

FYI. I found that I still got the dreaded spinning circle when only the Prime DMS showed up in the list. I fixed this (I think) by opening windows media player and selecting the prime DMS and playing a non-protected channel. After that PDVD13 showed 2 entries for the hdhomerun and clicking on the DMS one allowed me to take these screenshots.

Picture1.jpg
Picture1.jpg (94.51 KiB) Viewed 3516 times


Picture2.jpg
Picture2.jpg (181.04 KiB) Viewed 3516 times
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby go45cvi » Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:53 pm

So does the Quick TV application not work for copy once programming?
go45cvi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:37 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby Mediaman » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:52 pm

go45cvi wrote:So does the Quick TV application not work for copy once programming?

Correct.
Mediaman
 
Posts: 3796
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby nicodemus » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:57 am

How are you guys getting it to show up in PowerDVD? I have the Ultra version of 13 but it doesn't even show the HDHR Prime as a source under the Media / DNLA devices. I can see it on the windows explorer, and play copy freely channels outside of PowerDVD, but it doesn't even see the device. Is there an install trick or a configuration setting somewhere?

In other news, I've played copy freely channels with the cyberlink SoftDMA 2 player, which has been less than perfectly stable. All this on Win 8 x64 Enterprise. any thoughts?
nicodemus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:51 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:11 pm

When you tried the first time, did powerdvd have a message about going on the internet to enable dlna? Apart from answering yes to this question, I have done nothing special. I'm using windows 8 x64 Pro.
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby nicodemus » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:08 am

Hmmm, the plot thickens. Every time I open PowerDVD I get a crash from PowerDVD13Agent.exe - must be related(?) Yet it still plays local and other networked sources just fine- just doesn't see the HDHR at all. And because that crashes (maybe) I never see the 'activate DNLA' stuff (?)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<CrashInformation VERSION="1.0"><ID Value="20DEDAC0-050C-4831-83A6-833B343F505C"/><UUID Value="S-1-5-21-3288694449-3417704813-3480154169-1001-4785053E-3DBD-4005-9D86-0AAA260CDD2C"/><SR Value="DVD130313-16"/><ProductName Value="PowerDVD"/><AppName Value="PowerDVD13Agent.exe"/><AppVersion Value="13.0.18506.3104"/><VersionName Value="13.0"/><VersionType Value="Ultra"/><Is64BitOS Value="1"/><OSName Value="Windows 8 Enterprise Build 9200"/><GDICount Value="20"/><VMSize Value="260 MB"/><VGAName Value="NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690" DriverVersion="9.18.13.2018"/><VGAName Value="NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690" DriverVersion="9.18.13.2018"/><VGAName Value="NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690" DriverVersion="9.18.13.2018"/><VGAName Value="NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690" DriverVersion="9.18.13.2018"/><ModName Value="CLNetMediaCDS.dll"/><ModVersion Value="1.1.0.3906"/><ExceptionCode Value="0xC0000417"/><Offset Value="0x0005604C"/><SendLogUrl Value="http://boomerang.cyberlink.com/prog/util/boomerang/sendlog.jsp"/></CrashInformation>
nicodemus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:51 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby robnorton » Fri Sep 13, 2013 3:14 pm

This was in the tips for powerdvd forum: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/27715.page. Looks like pdvdagent is needed for dmr:

Hi,

In PowerDVD 13 we made many features controllable for end users.
Please see below list which services are connected to which function:

- CLHNServiceForPowerDVD13.exe will not be started by default. It will be enable when sue DTCP-IP

PowerDVD13Agent.exe will not be started when user login to computer if below functions are all disabled:
• Device via USB (Customize UI)
• PowerDVD Remote (Customize UI)
• DMR (DLNA Setting)

CLMSServerPDVD13.exe / CLMSMonitorServicePDVD13.exe will not be started each time computer boots if user disables all of below functions:
• PlayTo button (Customize UI)
• PowerDVD Remote (Customize UI)
• DMS (DLNA Setting)
robnorton
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby nicodemus » Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:06 am

Yeah, but I can't for the life of me figure out why it's crashing every time the program starts. Tried disabling the pdvdremote stuff, and the usb stuff just in case, but... no dice. Contacted their tech support. :(
nicodemus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:51 am

Re: PowerDVD13

Postby go45cvi » Mon Nov 25, 2013 6:49 pm

I got it working as well. Nice to be able to watch copy once programming on my laptop, thank you TWC and MS you've been absolutely no help. Unfortunately no dvr capability. FYI, you do need to do the channel scan on the home run prime setup for the channels to show up. It takes at least 30 minutes, I hope it persists across resets.
go45cvi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:37 am


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest